Skip to main content

Palms works closely with local law enforcement if there is an incident in our neighborhood.

Safety is always the #1 priority at Palms.

Safety Drills

first aid kit

The safety of our students is our top priority. Following LAUSD policies, Palms holds four or five types of safety drills throughout the school year, two or three each month:

  • Drop/Take Cover Drill: Students practice safety measures to prevent harm during an earthquake. Students protect their heads, take cover under desks and tables, and move away from windows and glass.
  • Fire Drill: Students learn to evacuate classrooms safely in the event of a fire.
  • Lock Down Drill: Students move to the safety of a classroom or closest building when there is imminent danger either on campus or in the neighborhood, such as from a loose animal, community incident, or police action.
  • Shelter in Place Drill: Similar to a Lock Down Dril. Used when there is an environmental threat, such as a chemical spill, fire, or insect swarm in the area.
  • Shake Out Drill: Students evacuate to the P.E. field during the annual Big Shakeout Drill. In the event of an actual earthquake or on-site emergency, parents will pick up students on the P.E. field.

These types of emergencies are unlikely to occur, but Palms is determined to be prepared!

2019-2020 Safety Drill Schedule
Safety Drills
Date Drill Period
Wed Aug 21, 2019 Fire Drill 2
Thu Aug 29, 2019 Drop/Cover Drill 5
Wed Sep 4, 2019 Lock Down Drill 2
Tue Sep 24, 2019 Drop/Cover Drill 4/5
Fri Sep 27, 2019 Fire Drill 2
Tue Oct 15, 2019 Radio Test Drill  
Thu Oct 17, 2019 Shake Out Drill 3/4
Thu Nov 7, 2019 Fire Drill 6
Wed Nov 20, 2019 Drop/Cover Drill 6
Mon Dec 2, 2019 Fire Drill 5
Thu Dec 12, 2019 Drop/Cover Drill 2
Thu Dec 19, 2019 Lock Down Drill 5
Thu Jan 16, 2020 Fire Drill 2
Thu Jan 23, 2020 Drop/Cover Drill 2
Mon Jan 27, 2020 Lock Down Drill 6
Wed Feb 5, 2020 Fire Drill 5
Thu Feb 20, 2020 Drop/Cover Drill 3
Mon Mar 2, 2020 Lock Down Drill 2
Fri Mar 6, 2020 Fire Drill 2
Thu Mar 19, 2020 Drop/Cover Drill 1
Wed Apr 15, 2020 Fire Drill 6
Wed Apr 22, 2020 Drop/Cover Drill 2
Mon May 4, 2020 Drop/Cover Drill 4-5
Thu May 21, 2020 Fire Drill 2